I have been photographing a lot of Star Wars themed costumes lately for members of the 501st Legion. I have, of late, been shooting with a somewhat dark & mysterious style that I am kind of partial to.  I wanted to somehow try and capture that same style with my costume. So, I set-up and metered my lights, put up my black backdrop, and got my wife to compose the shots and press the shutter button.

I think she did a great job composing the photos. We took about 30 shots altogether, but the photo on the left was my absolute favorite.  I’m actually thinking of making it into a trading card to hand out to kids at 501st events, as well as make it into a 16″ x 20″ for my home office.

The photos below were runner-up’s. The guitar shot was a whimsical, spur of the moment thing, which is something I would eventually like to incorporate more into my costume photography. Sometimes those are the most enjoyable, and make for a great conversational piece.