I have been waiting a long time for this one to arrive… finally it did (Exclusive #453/1000) Probably the best collectible piece that I have ever owned. The sculpt is dead on, the paint job is perfect, and the details are amazing. These pieces are quite expensive, but I got a pretty good deal on him (30% off of retail.) This one is the exclusive version, which came with a second changeable head, without his fedora hat. The statue was created by Sideshow Collectibles.

12192008-173213-1

There have been some complaints about the jacket being too short. Yes… it is a tad short, but nothing to bother me. The jacket hangs fine, and although it’s not 100% accurate in length, it’s ok with me.

12192008-174334

Another common nit-pick has been the color of the jacket. The jacket is criticized for being green. Mine actually looks gray… I’m really not seeing the green in it. I’m not exactly sure of the “actual” color of the original prop, but have read from people who have claimed to have seen the original jacket in person, that it does in-fact have a tiny bit of green in it. Once again, whether accurate, or not, it does not phase me in the least. I never really expect 100% accuracy with any collectible… none of us are perfect. However, this one screams Harrison Ford and Raiders of the Lost Ark, and that is all I need to really enjoy this piece.

12192008-174358

Yet another issue that I have heard about, is that his flesh color is too dark. Honestly, I just don’t see it with mine. The flesh color is just right. Since these are all individually hand painted, perhaps they vary in shade… I don’t know, I guess I got a good one.

12192008-174656-5

The statue is an amazing likeness of Ford as Indiana Jones, and has some of the finest detail work that I have ever seen on ANY collectible. The Idol is unbelievably realistic looking and has a very antiquated look to it. The jacket is weathered nicely, his shirt has some sweat stains, and the base is a piece of art in it’s own right.

If your a collector of Indiana Jones, there is absolutely no doubt that you MUST own this piece!

12192008-174057-2

EDIT: After looking at my own photos I realized that I should have put the pouch strap over Indy’s right shoulder. This has been corrected, and he is now safe and sound in my display case… and I just can’t stop looking at him. I also put some crumbled up paper in his pouch to give it some weight, and have it look like there is something in it.

12202008-084511-1

12202008-083813-1

img_8961-1